Who estradiol may be for, and who it is not for
May be for
- Women with moderate to severe hot flashes or night sweats around menopause [1]
- Women under 60, or within 10 years of their last period, with no reason to avoid estrogen: the group the Menopause Society says has a favorable balance of benefit and risk [2]
- Women after a hysterectomy, on estrogen alone, and women with a uterus, with progesterone added to protect its lining [3]
Not for
- Anyone with unexplained vaginal bleeding [1]
- Anyone with breast cancer now or in the past, or another estrogen-dependent cancer [1]
- Anyone who has had a blood clot in a leg or lung, a stroke or a heart attack, or who has a clotting disorder such as protein C, protein S or antithrombin deficiency [1]
- Anyone with liver disease [1]
How estradiol works
Around menopause the ovaries make far less estrogen, and hot flashes, night sweats and vaginal dryness often follow. Estradiol therapy puts back some of that estrogen. A Cochrane review pooled 24 placebo-controlled trials of oral hormone therapy with 3,329 women: weekly hot flushes fell by about 75% more than on placebo, and they were less severe [4]. The same review found hot flushes also fell by 57.7% in the women given placebo, which is why only blinded trials can show what a hormone adds.
Patch, gel, tablet, capsule or cream
| Form | How it is used | FDA-approved versions? | Worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Patch | Worn on the skin and changed on a schedule [5] | Yes [5] | Through the skin, it skips the first pass through the liver; it was not linked to clot risk in a large UK study [6] |
| Gel or spray | Spread or sprayed on the skin | Yes, for example Divigel® [1] | It can pass to another person by skin contact until it dries [1] |
| Tablet | Swallowed | Yes [7] | By mouth it was linked to a higher clot risk than skin forms in the same study [6] |
| Capsule | Swallowed | No estradiol-only capsule is FDA-approved; every approved capsule is a combination product [8] | The capsule VevaMD’s pharmacies fill is compounded |
| Skin cream | Rubbed into the skin | No: the one non-vaginal product of this kind, Estrasorb®, is discontinued [9] | The skin cream VevaMD’s pharmacies fill is compounded |
| Vaginal cream, insert or ring | Inside the vagina, for local symptoms | Yes [10] | A separate, low-dose use: see vaginal estrogen |
Your physician chooses the form from your history and your preference. Your price is set by what you need, not by the form. For the difference between bioidentical, compounded and pellet hormones, read bioidentical vs compounded vs pellets.
How long it takes
- Before you startA private intake about your symptoms, your periods and your health history. Labs only when your physician needs them.
- Weeks 4 to 12In the trials the FDA reviewed for an estradiol gel, fewer and milder hot flashes were measurable at week 4 on the higher strengths and at week 12 on every strength [1].
- Months 3 to 36The Cochrane trials ran from three months to three years [4]. Your physician checks in and adjusts the plan; there is no set end date.
Side effects and risks, in numbers
- Common: irregular bleeding or spotting, breast tenderness, vaginal yeast infections and colds were the most frequent side effects in the estradiol gel trials [1]. On the highest-strength patch, 29% of women reported breast pain against 4% on placebo [5].
- Blood clots: in 80,396 women with a clot and 391,494 without, estrogen by mouth was linked to higher odds of a clot (adjusted odds ratio 1.58), and patches and gels were not (0.93) [6].
- The uterus lining: over three years, 27.7% of women on estrogen alone developed simple hyperplasia, against 0.8% on placebo [11]. That is why progesterone is added if you have a uterus: read progesterone.
| Estrogen + progestin (women with a uterus) | Estrogen alone (after a hysterectomy) | |
|---|---|---|
| Heart disease | 7 more [12] | No increase (hazard ratio 0.91) [13] |
| Stroke | 8 more [12] | 12 more [13] |
| Clot in the lung | 8 more [12] | Not reported in these terms |
| Invasive breast cancer | 8 more [12] | No increase (hazard ratio 0.77) [13] |
| Hip fracture | 5 fewer [12] | 6 fewer [13] |
| Colorectal cancer | 6 fewer [12] | Not reported in these terms |
Those trials gave oral conjugated equine estrogens, not estradiol, to women whose average age was 63 [14]. Age changes the balance: across all outcomes combined, estrogen alone meant 19 fewer events per 10,000 women a year at ages 50 to 59 and 51 more at ages 70 to 79 [15].
What the FDA changed in 2025 and 2026
On November 10, 2025, the FDA asked the makers of every menopausal hormone therapy to remove the heart disease, breast cancer and probable dementia language from the boxed warning [16]. Systemic estrogen taken alone keeps its boxed warning on endometrial cancer for women with a uterus [14]. Divigel was one of the first six products relabeled, on February 12, 2026, and its boxed warning now covers endometrial cancer only [1]. On October 23, 2026, the estradiol patch and tablet labels we checked still carried the older box [5] [17]. The risks were not erased: heart disease and breast cancer remain in the label’s warnings [18]. The dated record is in the FDA label change tracker.
Is VevaMD’s estradiol FDA-approved?
It depends on the form. The estradiol skin cream and the estradiol capsules VevaMD’s pharmacies fill are compounded and not FDA-approved: no estradiol-only capsule and no estradiol skin cream is an FDA-approved product [8] [9]. A physician may choose a patch or a tablet, forms that also exist as FDA-approved products; ask your physician whether the product you receive is FDA-approved or compounded. The FDA has not reviewed compounded estradiol for safety, effectiveness or quality, and its label change applies to FDA-approved products.